Camera shaped Lavender Biscuits

I can’t believe how long it’s been since I last blogged! Time flies when you’re having fun as they say! I’ve had a busy couple of weeks with my Mom coming to stay with me one weekend and then it was her’s and my Nan’s birthday the following weekend! It’s been non-stop! But I’ve finally found time to catch up with myself!

I want to blog about these lavender biscuits as they are yummy! The first time I heard about baking or cooking with lavender, I thought “that can’t be right!” But they are really delicious! The recipe is from Vanessa Kimbell‘s book Prepped and is so simple!

CameraBiscuits_5

Firstly, you will need to make the lavender sugar in advance. All you need is 1kg caster sugar and 8 heaped tbsp dried culinary lavender. Just combine these ingredients in an airtight jar and leave for about 2 weeks, giving the jar a shake from time to time.

Then when you’re ready to make the biscuits, all you need is:
200g lavender sugar
500g butter
750g plain flour

This makes approximately 35 biscuits.

1. Preheat the oven to 150 degrees C/gas mark 2.

2. Sieve the lavender from the sugar and tip the spare petals back into the sugar jar. Cream the sugar with the butter until white and fluffy. This makes the shortbread light. Add the flour and mix well before turning out onto a work surface. If the mix is too crumbly and it won’t come together, add a teaspoon of water and remix. Roll out to about 1.5cm and cut the dough into the shapes you require.

CameraBiscuits3

3. Place the shortbread onto a baking tray and bake for 18-20 minutes. Be careful, as the colour at the end of baking changes rapidly, so keep your eye on them.

CameraBiscuits_1

4. Place on a wire rack to cool and sprinkle with a little more lavender sugar to serve.

CameraBiscuits_8

CameraCookieCutters

I used my favourite camera shaped cutters when making this recipe! (Purchased from Photojojo).

Leave a Reply

