Props: Milk Bottle

Today I wanted to talk about props and in particular, my new favourite: the milk bottle.

milk bottle

I bought this milk bottle with the intention to use it for cookie shots. It’s been used more times than I thought it would and works well with other foods!

JamDoughnuts Sideview2

I use it when I feel the photo is missing something. You don’t always need to use props, you can keep the image simple and minimalist, but sometimes it just needs a little extra something. I’m not saying it will work well with everything, because it won’t! I don’t think you’d get away with putting a bottle of milk next to a meaty dish for example. I’ve only ever used it when shooting sweet baked goods.

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Of course, the milk bottle also pairs really well with cookies and biscuits!

Gingerbreadmen Red

 

MovemberCookies

This is just one prop of many that I love. Many photographers use little to no props, while others like to fill the frame with them! I think I fall in between and can’t resist browsing markets to find that unique prop but also don’t like to cram loads in. The main focus after all is the food!

At the end of the day, it’s down to what you feel the image needs or what the client is after. If you have any questions on anything I talk about on my blog, feel free to ask! What I’d like to know is do you have a favourite prop and how do you use them? Leave a comment, or drop me an e-mail: zomag@hotmail.co.uk (If you include a picture, doesn’t have to be professional, I might just post my favourite ones)!

Leave a Reply

