Top 5 Food Photographers Who Inspire Me

Hi all! I hope you’re all enjoying your weekend! I can’t believe we are now into September! I can already feel the chill of Autumn setting in! (Has to be my favourite season though)!

I wanted to go through my top 5 list of food photographers who have inspired me over the years! It was actually quite hard to choose just 5 photographers that I like but in the end, I chose the 5 that I felt had inspired me and have taught me the most.

5. Meeta K. Wolff – her photography is colourful and vibrant. It is never the same. She shoots a wide variety of food from all over the world and shoots it well. It’s nice to see a photographer’s portfolio that varies so much in terms of colour and composition. Every photographer has a signature style, which is great as it’s how your audience know that the images are yours! But I find that it’s also great to experiment once in a while and do something you’ve never done before. For me especially as I’m still at the beginning of my journey and still learning what my style is, it’s nice to use a variety of different props and colours in my images. Wolff’s portfolio is brilliantly varied. She teaches food photography workshops in various cities around the world such as Amsterdam, Berlin or even Dubai and I am determined to partake in one of them one day. For those that are interested, she also has a blog called What’s For Lunch Honey?

Cherry Meringue Tart-0048-by Meeta K. Wolff  Vanilla Infused Kumquat Marmalade Semolina Cake:

4. Nicolesy is a photographer that I discovered after I’d graduated from university but wanted to continue learning about food photography. Her book Food Photography: From Snapshots to Great Shots taught me a lot about using natural light and how to style the food. Her photos are light and bright and have a nice fresh homely feel which is exactly the feel I try to give my own photography.

  Yogurt Parfait by Nicole S. Young, via 500px

3. Helene Dujardin is also known for her blog Tartelette and her book From Plate to Pixel. I discovered her whilst studying food photography for my dissertation and wrote most of my report based on what I learnt from her book. I still read through it from time to time to refresh my memory. It really really helped me at the beginning of my food photography journey and still helps me today. It’s easy to follow and ideal for beginners. I highly recommend it if you’re just starting out in the field. Her photography is light and fresh and her styling and composition is creative and artistic! I’d definitely be happy if I could produce images like hers.

Forelle Pears  Violet Macarons

2. Izy Hossack aka Top With Cinnamon is known for her delicious recipes and equally known for her unique style of food photography. I believe she started her food blog at the age of 15 and I find that incredible! Her style of photography is just beautiful, just like the food she creates. I have her recipe book Top With Cinnamon and so far have made the Best Ever Chocolate Chip Cookies and the Swedish chocolate cake. Both are as delicious as they look!

Best Ever Chocolate Chip Cookies (with herb-infused butter and fleur de sel) | Top With Cinnamon  DIY Chocolate HobNob Biscuits // Izy Hossack - Top With Cinnamon

  1. David Loftus is well known for photographing many of Jamie Oliver’s books. For me, his work is just perfection! He’s been doing it for over 20 years so of course he’s going to know exactly what he’s doing but it really does show in his images! His work is just so bright, vibrant and colourful! Without realising it, I think he’s probably my biggest influence in my food photography. He is most certainly my idol and I’d love to get to his level one day myself.

© Jamie Oliver Enterprises (2014 Jamie’s Comfort Food) Photographer: David Loftus:   David Loftus - Food:

Leave a Reply

